Regional Government
Citizen Space
Business Space
About Azores
  news Legislation Schedule Communities Contacts Portal Map Links Help
Versão PortuguesaMUDAR LÍNGUA



The Hawaii Islands were discovered in the 16th century by a Portuguese at the service of Castela.

The Archipelago of Hawaii is located in the North pacific Ocean at approximately 3700 km from San Francisco and is made up of 128 islands, of which only eight are inhabited.

The main inhabited islands are Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, Maui and Big Island of Hawaii.


Total Land Area

The archipelago has a total land area of 16705 sq km.


Capital City

Honolulu – on the island of Oahu.


Main Cities

-         Honolulu with approximately 400.000 inhabitants

-         Hilo with approximately 40.000 inhabitants

-         Kailua with approximately 36.500 inhabitants

-         Kaneohe with approximately 36.000 inhabitants

-         Waipahu with approximately 33.000 inhabitants

-         Pearl City with approximately 31.000 inhabitants

-         Waimalu with approximately 29.000 inhabitants

-         Mililani Town with approximately 28.500 inhabitants

-         Kahului with approximately 20.000 inhabitants

-         Kihei with approximately 17.000 inhabitants



Hawaii’s climate is mild. The temperatures vary between 27ºC in summer and 17ºC in winter, with humidity levels reaching the 75%. The hottest season, or summer period, occurs from May to October, and the rain season, winter period, from December to March.



The archipelago has a volcanic basis, but only one of the 128 islands registers volcanic activity, the Island of Hawaii (Big Island), where two of the greatest craters in the world are located – Mauna Lea and Kilanea, as well as the highest peak of the archipelago, the Mauna Kea Mountain, which rises to 4500m above sea level.

Geologically, the island of Hawaii is the most recent of all. Furthermore, it has not been heavily eroded.


Demographic Data


Hawaii has a population of 1.2 millions inhabitants (2001 census):

-         32% of diverse ethnic groups;

-         22% Caucasians

-         22% Japanese

-         12% Philippines

-         5% Chinese

-         1% Hawaiian


Population by sex (2000):

-         Male: 608.671 – 50.2%

-         Female: 602.866 – 49.8%



Besides the Roman Catholic, the main religion in Hawaii, there are also other religions in the archipelago, such as the Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Judaism and the Islamism.



Hawaii became the 50th state of the United States on August 21, 1959, after being designated territory in 1900.


The Democrat State is represented by the Governor Benjamin Cayetano.


Hawaii is also known as Aloha State.


State’s Symbols


The eight alternated stripes represent the eight islands of the state; the “British Union Jack” represents the historical relationship between Hawaii and its protectorship Great Britain and the crossed triangular ribbon used by the Hawaiian king. The flag was adopted in 1816.


Bird: Nene or Hawaiian Goose, adopted in 1988.

Flower: Yellow Hibiscus, adopted in 1988.

Tree: Candlenut, adopted in 1959.

Dance: Hula, adopted in 1999.

Colours of Each Island

Hawaii – Red

Maui – Pink

Ohahu – Golden

Kauai – Purple

Molokai – Green

Lanai – Orange

Niihau – White

Kaholawe – Grey





Official Languages

-         English

-         Hawaiian


Economical Resources

Hawaii’s main economical resources are:

-         Tourism (with approximately 7 million visitants a year);

-         The profits from the American Military Bases;

-         Agriculture.



Azorean emigration to Hawaii.






Azorean Emigration to Hawaii
Hawaiian Flag

<< back
Advanced Search >>


This e-mail address is at your disposal for you to place your questions to the Regional Government of the Azores.
Ask the Government!


Health Ombudsman
Listen to this Page LISTEN
Go to top of page TOP
help HELP
Versão PortuguesaMUDAR LÍNGUA

Símbol of Acessibilidade on Web
main | President | Regional Government | Citizen Space | Business Space | About Azores | My Site